The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Because I’m an adult

on September 18, 2016

When I was a young teen, I couldn’t wait to be an adult. All I wanted to do was live on my own, buy my own stuff, have my own space… I wanted freedom.

Now that I have that, I am both thankful for it and reminiscent of those years I rushed to grow up.

This morning’s message in church inspired me to write a blog post, mostly because it made me think hard about my life now. Obviously, if we read the Bible, we know what God says is good and bad. Allowed and not allowed. But some things can cause us harm even if they might be considered a normal thing or a good thing. We need to ask ourselves, is this thing I’m doing controlling my life? Is it affecting my spirit in a negative way?

bible

From Pinterest (jsttrstgodgrl.tumbler.com)

 

The other day I was talking with a friend about how kids don’t seem to go outside as much as they used to, especially since tablets and computers exist in the new generations, and they’re improving every day. After church today, it occurred to me there are lots of things adults used to do that have been put on the back burner… For some, talking face to face is uncomfortable or avoided, we watch more TV than spending time with each other, etc. It got me thinking about the TV shows and movies I watch. They’re not bad in the sense that they have nudity or nasty language, but they do make jokes of casual sex, drinking, etc.

Every time I’m faced with a message like the one I heard in church today, I think to myself…. Well I’m an adult. I can handle it. And I don’t act like them or believe those things, so it doesn’t matter.

The “because I’m an adult” excuse is easy to use, especially since I was a teenager not that long ago. But it’s like what I wrote in my post “The addictions we ignore” …. sometimes endless hours of TV watching, for example, prevents us from doing other things or improving ourselves. Is watching TV ok? Of course it is. Is it relaxing? Sure, but it all comes back to thinking about what we’re “digesting” in our bodies. And are our habits or enjoyments simply that, or do they rule our lives? Can we quit at any time? If the answer is no, or you’re hesitating, something’s wrong.

I’m guilty of this, obviously. That’s why I’m writing about it. I don’t want my life to be full of “because I’m an adult” excuses. I want to be living the best life I can for the glory of God. We’ll stumble, but God will be there for us. He paid all and gave all. We can try harder to do a little more for His kingdom.

One response to “Because I’m an adult

Leave a Reply

