The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Definitions

on August 28, 2016

Some of you might be like me and grew up hearing about God. Others of you maybe came to know Him later in life. Either way, have you ever at some point felt sort of distance from it all? Maybe you can’t even define what it is, but you just know you don’t feel close to it.

I know I have. In fact, I’ve felt that way many times. Does that freak me out? It did for a little bit, but I’ve come to realize something. You know when you go to a concert, some people are rocking out with their hands in the air, or they’ve got some dance move they’re busting out… And some people just aren’t? I’ve learned some people may just be putting on a “show” or a “good face.” Truth be told, they might be at a low point in their life. They might not even really believe what they’re selling. But we don’t always know that or see that. None of it may be real.

The journey of life with God isn’t always a golden street with rainbows and butterflies. It doesn’t always feel perfect. And if you’re pushing outside of yourself, it shouldn’t even necessarily feel comfortable.

CS Lewis

From Pinterest (godrite.com)

I can think of one time, over any other time, that I felt God and I felt closer to God than any other moment(s) in my life. I often look back on it and wish I could feel that way all the time. There are days I feel sort of blah. Sort of out of it and disconnected. That’s ok. What matters is that we’re for real. We know what we believe and we strive to be our best. We don’t have to throw our hands up and try to grasp at something because we think that will somehow make God feel real to us or make others think we’re for real. Connecting with God isn’t supposed to be a show for our glory and gain. It’s supposed to be real and honest. It looks dirty sometimes.

It’s like being in school and learning something new… sometimes you get it. Sometimes it makes sense. Sometimes it doesn’t. That’s ok. What matters is that we’re honest with ourselves and we seek help and guidance when we need it. We shouldn’t pretend we get it and go up to the board and spit out a bunch of nonsense, if you get what I’m saying.

What’s my overall point? What am I trying to say exactly?

Walking with God doesn’t have to have definitions as to what it should look like. Sometimes we may be reaching our hands up, and sometimes we might be quiet. It doesn’t matter as long as it’s real and as long as we’re giving it our best shot ever day for God’s glory and not our own. Don’t feel discouraged if you don’t feel a jolt of electricity in your soul every time you’re at church or praying on your own. It’s ok. Just keep going, keep striving, keep listening. God will be there and He’ll give you what you need.

 

Leave a Reply

