The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Big enough?

on February 4, 2016

Have you have ever really wanted to go on a mission trip? Build homes in a different county? Share God’s word in foreign lands?

I know I have.

Not everyone has the opportunity to do such awesome things. Sometimes, it might make us feel bad or guilty, like we aren’t doing anything to better the world.

When I was in church a few months ago, I heard about a book called “Joining Jesus On His Mission – How to Be an Everyday Missionary,” by Greg Finke. I decided to read it because it sounded interesting. I’m glad I did, because it turned out to be a great read. th

For those of us who haven’t been on a mission trip, don’t feel we’re called to go on a mission trip (Which is ok! We’re all called to different walks in life), and even for those who have been on mission trips… We may sometimes feel like we’re not doing enough; we’re not living up to our full potential. Or maybe we want to help, but we don’t know how. I felt that way for a long time.

That’s why Finke’s book was so great – it reminded me of something incredibly important.

No matter what we’re called to in this life, whether it be at home or abroad, there is a chance for us to make a difference in this world every day. It might not seem like a big deal or that it matters in the grand scheme of things, but I promise you, it does!

When I first started reading, I couldn’t think of anything I did in the past or could do now that would matter. But as I kept reading, a lot of things came to my mind. It can be as simple as smiling at someone and asking how they’re doing. It gives you a chance to get to know someone, maybe someone you work with or encounter on a daily basis. Introduce yourself. Share a story. Lend a hand. If your passion is sharing God’s word, get to know a person and let the relationship build to when there might be an appropriate time.

I can remember hearing someone say they did something in their relationship they weren’t proud of, and they didn’t think God could ever forgive them. That could be a chance to talk about God in a way that shows your kindness and compassion for the other person, but even more important, God’s love and forgiveness.

It may seem like a bitter-sweet suggestion, but Finke talks about getting to know your neighbors. It seems obvious to do, but I think many of us barely know who our neighbors are, let alone how we could be a light to them. Finke gives some great suggestions about how to break the ice with your neighbors.

One thing to keep in mind through all of this – pray about everything. Just because other people are building houses somewhere doesn’t mean it’s what you’re supposed to do. Your calling could be reading to people at a nursing home or playing games with them. No matter what your calling is, remember God has a purpose. A great plan. It might not make sense, and you may wonder what God is doing – you may even ask Him if He’s joking, but God always knows what’s best.

 

 


Leave a comment