The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Part 2: The addictions we ignore

on October 23, 2015

I met my aunt from the Philippines for the first time this last week. Her name is Rowena. A big part of me feels like I’ve known her my whole life. She is so sweet and friendly. I can’t wait to spend more time with her.

Before meeting Rowena, all I knew about her came from social media. I got to see little snapshots of her life and what sort of things she enjoyed. And it’s been a huge blessing.

Remember when I wrote about the addictions we ignore? This post kind of goes along with it in some ways. Social media is great way to keep in touch with those who live far away, like with my aunt. Eventually, she will go back home, and I’ll continue to see what she’s doing over there.

Found on Facebook from Showbiz Chisms

Found on Facebook from Showbiz Chisms

So what’s my point?

A while back, I noticed I enjoyed using social media for sharing all my personal accomplishments or things I was really proud of. And that’s ok. It’s completely fine. But I found I was caught up in a game. It’s really easy to get wrapped up in “one-upping” each other. I wasn’t doing it consciously, but I was still doing it. I would see what other people were posting and become consumed with achieving what they had. Either that, or I would create illusions like I was at that place in my life or completely and totally satisfied.

Have you ever caught yourself doing this? I still do it sometimes. It’s so easy to do.

The more I talk with people that are in my generation, the more it seems, at least to me, that instead of perhaps looking at the nice cars our neighbors have or the fancy clothes our coworkers wear, we more notice these things online. We see people creating, establishing, loving, working, buying, learning, etc. And I think we either become depressed or hungry to catch up. We want our “friends” to like our pictures and give us good comments. We seek approval. We seek approval because we’re human. We want to fit in, and we want to be liked.

I didn’t slow down until my pride burned me. Until I couldn’t keep a good face. I wasn’t happy because I felt like I wasn’t getting anywhere. I was stuck in this rut. Suddenly, what I had didn’t seem good enough.

It couldn’t have been a bigger lie. Yes, I live with my parents. It won’t be much longer, but it’s been a huge blessing. I’ve saved money and been able to go to places like France, pay on my loans, enjoy fun days out more… I graduated from a wonderful college. I don’t have a permanent job in my field yet, but I’ve been blessed to work at a place that gives me great hours and good pay. And I sit next to the most wonderful and positive woman you could ever meet.

Even if I didn’t have those things, I would still be incredibly blessed. There is a God up there who loves us and gave His life for us. And He didn’t care if anyone gave Him a stamp of approval or a pat on the back. In fact, He didn’t get any of those things. Not many people looked at His life and thought, “Wow, He’s got it all together. Everyone likes Him.”

Don’t get me wrong. Sharing the things that make us proud and feel good about ourselves isn’t a bad thing. It’s only bad if we have the wrong intentions. As I shared in the beginning, social media has given me a chance to get to know my aunt before we met. It was wonderful.I got to see her beautiful family members and learn about her passions.

One of the harder times in my life was a time when I dug more into the Bible than I did into my computer. If only I did this more when all is well and good. I don’t need to wish. I need to do.

Leave a Reply

