The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

The addictions we ignore

on August 23, 2015

Addiction knows many names. I think when people think about that word, things like drugs and alcohol come to mind.

Did you ever think food, people, or habits could be addictions? What about books and movies?

I’ve never been a big TV watcher until recently. I heard people talking about new shows and classic older shows – Younger, The King of Queens, Empire… And all the new additions to Netflix or the countless shows and movies available to be watched. poltergeist-tv-500x375c

Friends would talk about “binge watching” episodes of a show. I laughed at them because I thought it was ridiculous. I didn’t understand how someone could do that until now. I started watching hours and hours of a show at a time. Granted I just lost an important person in my life, I found myself sucked into a fantasy world. I felt like I was acting like some of the characters or thinking like some of the characters. Some of them were particularly nasty, rude, and careless.

Hear me out. I think the access we have to entertainment can be really wonderful and fun to share with friends and family. But it can also be a silent addiction. Lately, all I’ve wanted to do is watch the show. I watched it during my breaks at work, when I came home, in between activities or events. I wasn’t writing anymore. I wasn’t talking to any real people. And I sure wasn’t sleeping at night. One more, one more… It would go through my head over and over again.

I decided to try and ask myself why the show was so important to me. What void was I trying to fill? Or did I just really like it? And was that even ok? The same can be said of other things too. For me, I just really wanted to live away from the real world for awhile. I wanted to forget that I was living life without my grandpa. As a writer, I’ve always been connected to the stories I tell. To the characters in the stories. And when I watch TV, I get that way too sometimes. I knew some of the people on the show I was watching were bad people. And even though I knew I was a good person and would never act the way the characters were, it didn’t matter. Because I was watching something that wasn’t promoting a healthy mind and soul. And I knew that. But I didn’t listen to the voice inside my heart saying something wasn’t right. I listened to the voice in my head that said it was all harmless and didn’t matter.

It’s like swallowing down one pill. Perhaps it won’t hurt you. Perhaps you won’t notice the side effects. Maybe not right away. But eventually, you will. And maybe you go so far down that road, you don’t know if you can make it back home.

It may seem like a dramatic comparison… But something that can hurt your soul and morals should be just as important as your physical health.

I made excuses for myself until I realized I was just trying to fill my heart with something fake. It’s funny and wonderful how everything in life begins and ends and comes back to God. I didn’t look for Him when I should have. And yet, I felt Him asking me to come back.

Whatever you’re wrestling with today, choose to listen to God’s voice. I know you can hear it. You know you can hear it. I want to fall in love with His words the way I fell into the show. Only this time, it means freedom.

Leave a Reply

