The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Did you think He forgot about you?

on August 4, 2015

I remember when I was a kid I really wanted to be a dentist. I wanted to wear a white coat and be a local hero.

Now I’m a college graduate in journalism and multimedia communication. I still actually really love the dentist and going to the dentist.

Why do I bring this up?

Because graduating from college left a weird taste in my mouth – not at first, but it did. I kind of forgot I was supposed to be you-are-not-forgotten-god-knows-your-name-57trusting God. God helped me get through college… but this is just the beginning. I’ve been applying for jobs. I’ve had some interviews. In the midst of it all, I’ve found myself having mini panic attacks because applying for jobs is stressful, frustrating, and time consuming. When things weren’t working out, I started to get nervous, thinking I must have picked the wrong career path. I was convinced if I went back to be a dentist, everything would work out. I would get that job, I wouldn’t feel discouraged, I wouldn’t feel this, I wouldn’t feel that… And even though there would be absolutely nothing wrong with that, I knew I was being a little over the top.

I heard a good message a few weekends ago at church. The pastor was talking about how he had a hard time getting into a new career and was also feeling discouraged. He was turned down a lot. He felt hopeless. But then God reminded him to be patient and trust in His plan. The pastor talked about how God knows what’s best for us – He has a perfect plan for our lives. A lot of times, it doesn’t matter what we do. What’s meant to be will be. We might not have the best qualifications, we might not be the most impressive, we might be broken, we might be hurting, we might be unsure, we might be blind, we might be disadvantaged… But thank God we have God! Because of Him, all things are possible. What may seem impossible, can be made possible.

Of course, this doesn’t mean we should slack off and not try because God’s got this – While He does have it all in His hands, that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try. If we don’t try and we don’t trust, we aren’t meeting Him halfway. It’s like being in friendship that isn’t really a “friendship.” Friendships shouldn’t be one-sided.

It’s also hard seeing people you know move up in life. Whether it’s with a job, relationship, possessions… It might make you feel like you’re behind or you’re missing something. The world of social media can often fuel jealousy, sadness, frustration, and a lack of satisfaction with life in general. Social media can be wonderful, but it can be dangerous at times. Don’t judge a book by its cover. Just because something looks good, doesn’t mean it is good.

If you aren’t exactly where you want to be in life, that’s ok. Take a breath. Remember who your guide is. Remember who you’re living for and what you’re living for. Be faithful in the little things. God sees you. He sees what you’re doing and how you’re doing it. Give Him the glory in all you do and for everything you do. I know it’s hard. It can be really, really hard. But you know what? Today I sang, “Lord, I Lift Your Name on High” at the top of my lungs, and I’ve never felt so alive.

Leave a Reply

