The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

What goes well with chili

on May 11, 2015

Yesterday was such a fun day! I went to church, had breakfast with Mom, and went to see the new Avengers movie.

Later on in the evening after some hamburgers on the grill, we all went out for some custard. My sister isn’t a huge fan of burgers, so she said she couldn’t eat the rest. Dad said if she wanted dessert, she needed to eat it (which was only about 3 bites or so). She fought hard to get those last few pieces down, but not for custard…For chili!

She really enjoys chili, so she was determined to finish the rest of her food.chili4

I had this yummy custard with chocolate and some fruit. It was really good. My sister stayed in the car while we went in to get everything. When we brought it out, she was excited and eager to get the cover off. I ate my dessert sitting next to her so I could smell the chili. It was an interesting thing eating custard but smelling chili… It might have been a once in a life time experience!

When we were almost home, she gave me the bag to put my garbage in. All of a sudden, I felt something warm on my legs. I looked down. Chili. Everywhere. The cup must have flipped over or something. My jeans were looking extra stylish. We got everything cleaned up that we could while still in the car.  My big and sometimes stinky dog, Chester, came to greet us when we arrived. I had to laugh because my mom was whistling trying to get him to come over and get the chili off my jeans.  He took one lick/sniff and then walked away, apparently uninterested.

He’s typically not a picky eater, but when he feels like it, he won’t do much of anything.

All in all, it was a great day. I always enjoy a good laugh, even if it means I somehow have food all over my face or clothes.

Leave a Reply

