The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

The perfectly imperfect dress

on April 24, 2015

The last few weeks have been busy, fun and crazy – all at the same time. I found myself in a lovely little Italian buffet style restuarant in the Cities, in a teal peacoat on these, at times, chilly April days, and at the Viennese Ball at UWEC.

IMG_20150410_235403

Getting fancy – VBall 2015

The VBall was beautiful as always. Such great music, treats and dancing. Craig and I agreed it went way too fast! One of my favorite things about it is the man they get to play piano and sing songs. He’s funny and a very talented player. There’s nothing better than singing “Piano Man” with a bunch of strangers all dressed up in a dimly lit room. Some students jumped up on the small stange with him and sang along with their arms around each other.

Every year we go, Craig gets me a piece of this absolutely fabulous Snickers cake. It’s so good! Very rich with chocolate frosting and pieces of the candy bar on the top. It’s usually the first thing we do when we get in. It goes great with a cup of coffee, and it’s fun to see how perfect of a lip print I can get on the white plastic cup from my plum colored lipstick.

Last year, I had some major dress mishaps that ultimately led me to get the light green one you see me wearing in the picture on the left. It’s a long story, but I originally bought this gorgeous, pink, fairytale dress. In my mind, it was the most amazing dress, and I got it for a steal of a deal. It fit perfectly when I tried it on – I’ve learned my lesson about trying on clothes, especially dresses, before buying them. When I got home, it would not zip up at all for whatever reason. My dad even grabbed one of his tools from the garage to try and force it to go up.

Needless to say, the zipper ended up breaking off, and the beautiful pink dress I dreamed of wearing was a no go. I didn’t have a lot of time to try and fix it, so I went to DEB and bought the green dress instead. It was a good price, pretty, simple, and not too long, which is great for dancing.

Last year when I was getting ready, I needed help zipping up my green dress. One of my friends helped me, but she didn’t realize she had makeup on her hands. It’s not too noticeable, but there’s a makeup smear on the back near the zipper. I was just glad to make it to the dance in a dress that was in one piece!

I’m not usually too clumsy, but this year, I managed to spill coffee on my dress. Thankfully, it wasn’t too bad or noticeable. I have had the worst luck with dresses! Craig, of course, laughed and tried to help me clean it up and I relived last year’s crazy times before the VBall.

That little green dress has been an absolutely perfect dress to dance in though. Like I said, it isn’t too long or wide, and there aren’t too many sparkles on it (those can sometimes bother my skin if there are too many).

We’ll see what happens next year. Even though I won’t be a student anymore, I would love to get back to the VBall. It’s a magical and often upexpected evening – Of course, the mysterious part of it is usually due to my own actions. But hey, that’s what makes it a good story to tell!

Leave a Reply

