The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

What happens in France…

on July 26, 2014

France has been a lot of fun, but there have been many little mini challenges along the way. These are things I now realize aren’t even as big of a deal as I made them. Thankfully, my wonderful roommate Sam cheered me up as the days passed by and told me everything would be just fine. And the crazy thing was, she was right.

Some things didn't change.

Some things didn’t change.

Within the first week, my Droid phone stopped working. I couldn’t get it to do anything. I tried plugging it in, hitting the on button… I literally tried everything, but nothing worked. Sam reminded me I thought I wasn’t going to be able to use it at all, and that helped. Our first day in Nice, I burned my shoulders to a horrible degree… We left the house in a rush and I forgot to put on sunscreen. I saw someone in our group using some at our meeting, but I missed the opportunity to ask for it. At the end of the day, my poor shoulders had taken quite a beating. I was in bad shape. Eventually, they healed, but it took a while. I only just started wearing tanks again here.

I bought a fairly expensive converter for the trip and it didn’t work when I tried to use it here. I think it might have been too heavy or I wasn’t doing it right. Sam generously borrowed hers to me and also lent me some shampoo, conditioner, and even toothpaste as I realized I didn’t have any of those things. It was just me and my toothbrush. 

I also had problems with the small flip phone I got especially for the trip. It would only work if someone called or text me first. It was very frustrating. The worst part was, when it finally started to work normally for a little bit, it refused to do anything for me not long after I returned to France from Italy. I couldn’t believe it. It was unreal!

Mosquitoes have always loved me, so as you would imagine, I was eaten alive here for a while. I have about four or five bites on my face alone right now. I laughed a lot though, because Sam told me not to scratch it or it wouldn’t be pretty. Literally.

When I fist unloaded all my stuff, I put a pair of scissors on my desk in case I needed to cut my bangs. The next day, I couldn’t find them. I looked around the apartment. Our host mom has a lot of scissors because she likes to do crafts, but there were no blue scissors to be found. It was only today that I discovered them in my suitcase. And I laughed because I had been looking for them for a while.

No matter what I seemed to wear each day, my clothes would either A) Smell like smoke B) Stink in general or C) Be stained from my other clothes. We do a lot of walking every day and it’s very hot here, so a few of my clothes have bled into each other. I also found a small hole in my favorite sweater the other day.

Writing this all out now makes me laugh with amusement. Thinking about it all now, I couldn’t be luckier. God has blessed me with a great host mom, a great roommate, a lovely apartment to live in and it’s in a great location. Even my final story I have to write for my journalism class here is going well.

God certainly has a sense of humor. And through it all, I’ve been safe and sound and all is well. I’ve decided what happens in France doesn’t stay in France. It comes home with me. And I’ll be a different person, a better person, because of it. Never stop learning!

Leave a Reply

