The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

I’m a grown up now

on March 5, 2014

Dearest readers/followers… WOW, what an adventure February was!

On one of the crazy snowy days in February, I was going around a slippery corner. Of course, I was going turtle speed, but the other driver coming around the corner was not. She ended up slamming into my driver’s door. I was very shocked and frightened, but I thankfully wasn’t hurt. It took me a few moments to catch my breath and move out of the way, but it all ended up being ok.

Lucky for me, the car (his name was Roy) was getting old and had a lot of miles on it. My parents were a little concerned the transmission was going to go out. Not only that, but after the accident, my driver’s door was smashed in pretty good.

Near the end of the month, my dad and I went to Onalaska to get a new used car. It was quite an adventure, and by the end of the IMG_20140305_125722day, I was exhausted. But I’ve now ended up with a 2009 Ford Fusion. And I named it Stella. I really love the car. I feel grown up, because I have to make payments on it. I also had to get set up with insurance. It was kind of a tiring process, but after it was taken care of, things started to calm down.

After all the crazy stuff that happened to me over the summer and into the fall, I applied to go to France on a journalism/multimedia trip. I was accepted into the program, and I couldn’t be more excited for that adventure. I’ll be with other students from my school along with one of my journalism teachers. Not only that, but I get to take French lessons every day! I didn’t think I would be getting on a plane again as soon as it now appears I will be, but I feel this will be the good experience I’ve always wanted. I can’t wait!

One big lesson I learned during the month of February is this: Some people end up being crappy and mean, but even with these experiences, I’ve learned something from it. And so, I don’t consider my encounters with these people a waste of time… If people don’t want to be your friend, it’s their loss. You can only do what you can do. Don’t chase after people who don’t matter or don’t care. Along with this, I’ve been trying to focus on trusting in God. Resting in His peace. I have a couple of difficult classes this semester, and at times, I wonder how I will ever make it through. But I don’t need to concern myself with this. Of course, I need to try and I need to work hard, but God doesn’t deny us of our needs. If something doesn’t work out, it’s because He has better plans for us. And do we trust that? Can we trust that? We need to try.

I say, bring it on, March! The sun is shining today, and the weather feels warmer than it has in a while. A new leaf is going to turn over.

Leave a Reply

