The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

When there aren’t any words…

on October 11, 2013

Dearest blog readers and followers…I am now back home in Wisconsin after 6 weeks in Puerto Rico. boy with eyes covered

I know it must seem strange as I wasn’t expected back until December, but things became very dangerous very fast. I was trying to think of how to write about my experience, but at the moment, I don’t have the words I need to express what is in my heart.

I’ve been home for two weeks now, and I’ve enjoyed it greatly. When I landed in Minneapolis on September 27th, I thought everything in my life would return to normal right away.

Boy was I wrong.

It has taken me nearly all of these two weeks to recover from the nightmares and fears I held in my heart after coming home. For some reason, I’ve been absolutely exhausted for most days and I spend a lot of time resting on the couch. One of the hardest things about my transition back home is the people I’ve encountered. A lot of them don’t exactly understand what I’ve been through, and so they find it hard to relate. I can understand that, but the way they respond to my crisis isn’t out of sympathy…and that has been hard.

Rescue-me-600x320My life has taken some interesting turns though. For example, today I had a job interview at a place I wouldn’t have been able to work at unless things didn’t work out the way they did. My realtionship with God is also a lot stronger now, and my idea of peace is something incredibly different. Although my experience turned out to be bad, I wouldn’t change it because of what I have gained from it. I’ve gained a better understanding of who God is as He Himself was my Rescuer. Now that I know what life is like down there, I can also reach out to other students and warn them of the many dangers I encountered.

I left behind most everything I brought with me in my dorm room. Now I have the continued challenge of letting my body and mind recover from the trip.

If any of you would like to know more about what happened, I think Mark and I are going to do something on the radio about it. Even if that doesn’t work out, I’ve started to write a book about my experience. Thank you all for your prayers and thoughts! It means so much to me. It was so good to know that I had people thinking of me while I was gone. I praise God for my life!

Leave a Reply

