The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Skinny jeans and guaguas

on September 5, 2013

I’ve officially survived nearly 3 weeks here in Puerto Rico. In some ways, it feels like I’ve been here forever. In other ways, it feels like I haven’t been here long at all. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m constantly on the go here. Things have calmed down a little bit now that school is going on, but it seems I’m always doing something.

Checking out the beach.

Checking out the beach.

I like to stay busy because it keeps my mind off of home. Usually my mind doesn’t wander too far from the island because my body, mind, and self are constantly and continuously adapting to life here. I thought for this post, I’d write down some of my observations or thoughts on my life here. I’ve realized I’ve done a lot of things for the first time here, and I’ve also learned a lot. Lately, I’ve made a lot of lists so I thought I would make another for this post. Why not? 🙂 

1. People don’t shake hands here very much. Greetings usually consist of an embrace with a kiss on the side of the cheek. I actually really love the connections it makes! The first time I was greeted that way, I didn’t know what was happening, but I caught on right away.

2. La guagua = bus, but only here in Puerto Rico

3. Aguas = caution, but only in Mexico. My friends from Mexico taught me that.

4. Party boats are fun if you are careful.

5. Lizards are numerous, and they range in size.

6. There are bad places to go and good places to go.

7. Some parts of town are nicer than others.

8. Garbage can sometimes be found in the streets ripped open by a bird or an animal of some kind.

9. Knowledge of English varies greatly.

10. Accents are different and some are hard to understand.

11. I’ve seen a good amount of graffiti.

12.  Skinny jeans are common even in hot weather.

13. People seem to avoid walking in the rain unless they have some sort of cover-up.

14. There are lots of stray cats around.

15. Taking a train isn’t very hard as long as you are aware of where you’re going.

16. There are indeed bugs here that bite and leave you itching.

17. The sun here must be twice as strong…I’ve gotten some bad burns!

18. Michael Kors bags are a must have.

19. People enjoy the night life and they seem to never get tired.

20. Rain is fairly common, and it comes at odd times. On a perfectly sunny day, it was lightly raining outside.

I could go on forever, but this list is a good start! I’m sure I’ll have more to add to it later, but for now, I’m going to keep enjoying what time I have here and living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

