The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

My home away from home

on August 25, 2013

I’ve survived my first week here. As I write this, I know I’m already working on week 2. How do I feel? Pretty good, I guess. There is always so much going on here! It’s hard to feel too homesick when I’m constantly on the go. I’m actually very thankful for that. 

Last night my little family and I went on a fun boat with music during the night. It was a 2 hour ride and I absolutely loved it. How fun! Once I took a break from dancing I realized how gorgeous the island is. Sometimes I forget to take a step back and admire the beauty of it all. I’ve loved going to the beach, meeting new people, and trying to practice my Spanish. I speak Spanish every day; some days I speak more Spanish than others. It always seems that I get a little in each day. My biggest issue is confidence. Some days I’m more confident than others, but it seems that a lot of times I feel insecure about speaking the language. I’m thankful I have friends who take the time to listen to me and help me learn. 

One of my favorite things to do here is go to the beach. It is the most glorious thing I think I’ve ever seen. Words can’t even explain the beauty of this place. The best way to experience it is to be here. I love it. I feel a little out of my element though because I’m used to taking about 18 credits and not having much time to be with my friends. Usually during the school year I work and go to school. I feel like I’m constantly doing stuff for school. I take breaks to enjoy myself, but not too many. So far here, I haven’t had homework yet. I’m definitely not complaining, but it does feel different. I’ve mostly done fun stuff so far…and I’ve loved it! I’ve been to a mall, Walmart, the beach, parts of Old San Juan, and more.

School is going pretty well, but it is a little difficult at times. Some people speak very fast so I have a hard time listening and understanding what’s going on. However, there are many people here that are willing to help me, and for that, I am eternally grateful. As I continue to learn and grow, I try to remember that the Lord is with me. He is constantly guiding me and watching over me. With Him, I will surely succeed.

2 responses to “My home away from home

  1. Teresa Wolfe says:

    Amen chica. Hola de sus amigos en Wisconsin 🙂

Leave a Reply

