The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Bring it, Puerto Rico!

on August 13, 2013

Well everyone, I’m officially 2 days away from my trip to San Juan, Puerto Rico. 2 days! It feels so unreal. I remember thinking about where I was going to go and what I should do a year ago. Everything has happened so fast!

I know I said I would probably be packed by now, but I’m not. It’s on my to-do list. I actually made one yesterday because I didn’t want to forget about all the things I need to remember and think of before I leave. Making a list isn’t something I usually do, but I felt it was somewhat necessary this time.

I’m starting to feel like this is a real thing. I’m actually going to get on a plane and I’m actually going to leave. Scary! I keep thinking I want this to be a “see you later” and not a painful goodbye. This is just the start of something new…something I might only be able to do once.  I want to smile as much as I can at the airport when I leave Craig and my family. I know I’ll be home for Christmas, and there’s so much to look forward to.

I had to ride this ski lift to get to the top of Copper Peak. Yikes!

I had to ride this ski lift to get to the top of Copper Peak. Yikes!

To celebrate my trip and my last days home, Craig and I went on an adventure to the upper part of Michigan to visit my grandparents and take in some of God’s most amazing nature scenes. It was incredible! We went to Black River Harbor and saw Rainbow Falls, and we also went to Copper Peak. It was very rewarding to be able to see those sites. Black River Harbor and Rainbow Falls are places I’ve been visiting since I was a little girl. To be able to share such a special place with Craig was an unforgettable experience. Copper Peak was new to both of us, but we loved it! It has  been so fun spending time with my family and friends before I leave. It makes me excited to come home and spend more time with everyone! I’m sure I’ll have great stories to tell.

Today we had a party at my Grandma’s house to celebrate my new adventure. It was so fun! I ate so many chips and cookies it was crazy. I feel confident that my trip is going to be a great one. God is going to take care of me and everything is going to be ok. I just need to trust in God and rest in Him. I am in His hands. What a good place to be! I’m ready for San Juan 🙂

Leave a Reply

