The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Nature loves me…sort of

on August 2, 2013

We’ve been here in South Carolina for several days now but our final one is just around the corner. The days have flown by fast! We’ve done a lot of fun things during our time here. The thought of having to travel all the way back to Wisconsin isn’t appealing, but I’m looking forward to being back home.

The weather has been warm every day and it’s usually sticky. I didn’t realize it was prime gator weather! A few small gators live in the lagoon near the house we rented. I haven’t seen one, but there are signs warning people about their presence. There are lots of wonderful palm trees, beautiful birds, and incredible houses here on Hilton Head Island. I’ve seen things here that I previously hadn’t seen anywhere else. I was overjoyed by the sight of palm trees. Right when we entered South Carolina, there were several palm trees right near the sign welcoming us into the state. It was amazing! To think there are so many amazing creations designed by God out in the world that I haven’t seen is saddening, but it encourages me to look outside my box and get out more.

Our rented house

Our rented house

For our first few days on the island, we went to the beach and saw the Atlantic ocean. It was amazing! Very crowded and hot at times, but amazing. There were waves every day and everyone loved being a part of that. It’s hard to believe this because I love swimming in natural water environments, but I was a little afraid to go into the ocean because it seemed so unknown to me. Eventually I got my feet a little wet and then I was hooked. I stayed in the water for a while and then rested on the beach trying to soak up some sun. (I have very light skin so I was hoping to get some color.)

All was well and good, but the second time we went to the beach, something strange happened. I was walking into the water, slightly sun-burnt from the day before, when my legs started to hurt and sting horribly. It kind of felt like something was on my legs. Naturally, I freaked out a little because I was in the ocean and I thought for sure something was trying to tear me apart. I tried to get my dad’s attention without making a scene. I guess that didn’t work out too well because a woman looked at me and asked if I was ok. I told her I was…my legs just stung.  When my dad finally got to me, I raised one leg at a time out of the water, but nothing was on either of them. We figured it was because I had a few bug bites and scratches on my legs and the salt water was causing my pain. For my own sanity, I chose to believe that.

1014302_560949710629807_756953861_n

Loving the island

For a while, I was ok swimming in the water…but then it started to happen again. The worst one was on my ankle. That was the last straw for me, so I awkwardly ran out of the water onto the sand and looked at my ankle. It had a quarter size bump on it. I looked at the other places where I had been in pain and there were bumps there too. I tried to remain calm. My dad thought I should ask the life guard about it, but I was too nervous and frantic to move. My dad went and asked for me. He told me the life guard said there were little baby jellyfish in the water and not to worry. I would be ok. It was good news, but I still was a little nervous. The funny thing was my little brother got a sting on his belly…only he hardly noticed.

For most of our outdoor adventures, I’ve always been the one in my family to get attacked by bugs and other creepy crawly creatures. They must like me I guess. I have lots of little bug bites, stings, and I’m also sun-burnt. But I really can’t say much because I’ve been having a great time. I’ve been kayaking, swimming, boating…it’s been awesome. Except for when my brother and I crashed our kayak into a tree and the leaves were in our faces. That wasn’t the most fun thing ever.

All in all though, this has been quite the experience. All I can say is, Puerto Rico here I come!

Leave a Reply

