The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Not enough room for a big toe

on July 28, 2013

Early yesterday morning began the first of my many upcoming journeys. My family and I left for the biggest vacation we’ve ever taken together. We’re headed to South Carolina, but I’m currently writing this post from Nashville.

sxsw-roadtripI won’t lie. I was a little grouchy when I had to get up at 3 am to start our travels. I slept for about 4 hours the night before we left, and then I stayed awake until after we had breakfast in Janesville. I thought it was interesting how I couldn’t sleep from 3 am to 6:30 am, but after that I could. We were watching The Sandlot, and near the end of the movie, I “completely passed out” as my brother put it. Once I woke up, I felt confident I could make it the rest of the trip even though I can barely make it to my Grandma’s house most days….and she only lives 3 hours away.

Things were going well up to the point where I knew our lunch break in Kentucky was coming up. My sister joked she couldn’t even move her big toe we were all so squished in the back seats together. If you didn’t know, I have a fairly large family. Counting me, there are 5 of us kids. The oldest 3, myself included, were in the back of our Suburban. At this point, I was squirming to get out and stretch my legs despite the fact my dad gave us small breaks every 3ish hours.

When we finally pulled into the Bob Evans restaurant in Kentucky, I had to restrain myself from pushing over my siblings to get out of the back seat.  It felt great to be out of the car. I probably could have let out a few tears of joy. (I know that sounds ridiculous, but I did feel pretty grateful to be out of there.)  For lunch, I had a delicious salad. I tried to go on the lighter side of things considering I had pancakes, eggs, bacon, and syrup for breakfast. I felt so unhealthy driving and eating all day with very limited movement in between. At one of our stops my mom wanted me to do jumping jacks with her, but my legs were too tingly…plus I was wearing my brown ankle boots. Bad combination.

Bob Evans Restaurant

Bob Evans Restaurant with my brother

I later found out when we reached Nashville that I really enjoy the Tennessee area…at least the parts we went through. I thought it was beautiful with the trees and hills. It was quite enjoyable. I wish we could stay here longer, but South Carolina awaits.

When the evening came, we went to the Grand Ole Opry. What a neat experience! I loved it.  For a little while, I felt like a true country girl.

Sleep seems to be limited during our travels, so I probably should try and catch a few hours. When we were in the car I told my sister that my pancake smelled like syrup, but I was talking about my pillow. That was likely due to a combination of exhaustion and hunger.

I look forward to our adventures ahead! It should be great.

Leave a Reply

