The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Fish tacos and the bicycle not taken

on June 30, 2013

Ok. June is nearly over, and it has gone by quite fast, but it feels like it should be the middle of July already. Maybe it’s because I’m excited for these coming months. I think that might have a lot to do with it.Man of Steel

I’ve been working a lot these past weeks. I haven’t done a whole lot of “summer stuff” yet, but I have been having a lot of fun. My friend Teresa came to dinner with Craig and I to Buffalo Wild Wings the other day, and that was a lot of fun. I always get the same thing when we go, but this time I got a salad. (I usually get a buffalo chicken wrap thing.) My guess is I had a lot of sweets that day and I figured eating a salad would balance things out. It didn’t matter much though, because after that we went and got some yummy ice cream at Cold Stone. Teresa seemed to be greatly enjoying herself. She had never been there before, and she enjoyed eating on the patio with us. Next time I go to Buffalo Wild Wings, I’m guessing I’ll need to try the fish tacos. That’s what Teresa ordered, and she really liked them.

One of my favorite things to do is go to the movies, so Teresa and I did that on our own a couple days before we all went to dinner together. We saw Man of Steel, which we both thought was fantastic. It was Teresa’s first super hero movie! I think she had a good time. We were in the theater till a little before 12:30 am, and we loved it! Neither of us had been in a theater after midnight before. Then we proceeded to go to Festival Foods and buy some strawberries. That was also an interesting experience. Our adventure was the perfect little get away I needed. I felt like I was away from town for a while, even though I was still in Eau Claire.

This summer I’ve started working at a job I quit 3 years ago. This just proves we don’t know where God will take us in our lives. I never knew I would be back there, but it’s been one of the biggest blessings of this summer so far. One of the great things about this job is the location. It’s about 4 minutes from my house by car. I could most definitely walk there or take a bike, but I never do. I blame my choices on the funky weather. I never know if I’ll get rained on. It’s funny, because after taking a conservation of the environment class this last semester, I almost feel obligated to be greener. I’m still planning on taking a bike to work soon. I guess I’m waiting for the perfect day. I did forget to mention the fact that I don’t have my own bike. I’d have to borrow one from a family member. I suppose I could always snatch Craig’s bike and borrow that for a while too. Even better, he might be getting a scooter! However, Craig’s very protective of his bike. I’m not sure if that would work out so well. He takes great pride in it. Personally, I don’t understand the true glory his bike apparently has, but I suppose I could always ask him after I finish writing this.

This summer has been a roller coaster so far, but I’ve enjoyed the ride for the most part. I only have about 1 month left in Wisconsin, and I’m planning on enjoying it to the fullest!

Leave a Reply

