The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

For the first time

on April 22, 2013

It still doesn’t feel quite real yet, but I have the first plane ticket of my life in my room. August 15th, 2013…my first flight! It seems unreal.

I’m excited, but it feels far away. When I think of all the things I need to do between now and then, it feels like a long time. I’ve already decided I’m going to start packing the first day of August if I can. That process will feel defining.

There are still a fair amount of papers I need to fill out/aquire for my host school in Sagrado before I leave, one of them being a health certificate. I have an appointment with the travel clinic at Mayo on May 2nd, so we’ll see how that goes. I’m not the biggest fan of going to the hospital, as I’m sure most people aren’t, but it will be a new experience.

For my parents and Craig, getting the plane ticket alone felt like I was already gone in some ways. Everything feels bitter sweet about leaving home for the first time, but I know this is going to be an amazing journey.

Who knows? My Spanish will probably be good enough to write long blog posts in that language when I come back! Wouldn’t that be something!

Did I mention I also bought travel insurance the other day? What a way to make a girl feel old!

DSCF1064

4 responses to “For the first time

  1. Congratulations Amelia on buying your first plane ticket! I can imagine the excitement… May it be the beginning of a long, fruitful and adventurous friendship with the wonderful world…

    • kimbalarcl says:

      Thank you so much! I’m really hoping so. I can’t wait! I’ll be blogging about it all the time, I’m sure. 🙂

  2. Are you going to Spanish School in PR? I’m about to go to Costa Rica for 6 weeks to one and I’m so siked! Have fun on your adventures 🙂 God bless!

    • kimbalarcl says:

      I am! I’ve been in school for a week now. Honestly, it’s a little overwhelming at times, (I’m taking a break right now 🙂 ) but I love it. It is going to be an amazing experience for you! God bless you as well! Thank you for your thoughts and comments!

Leave a Reply

