The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

God designed it that way

on March 27, 2013
Craig and I at Target on the night of our first prom.

Craig and I at Target on the night of our first prom. I think our friend Autumn G. took this photo.

When I was a little girl, I wasn’t big on dresses, makeup, or lacy things. I liked to spend whole days outside with my cousins running around in the fresh air looking for Easter eggs or playing basketball. I wasn’t the best at it, but it was fun all the same. When I started third grade, I started to realize boys didn’t have cooties. It would be ok to talk with them. As time went on, I eventually started dreaming of the day when I would meet my true love. As sappy as it seems, I kept a journal, watched Cinderella like movies, and longed for the day when I would be asked to prom.

I remember when Craig asked me to prom like it was yesterday. We were practicing for a musical that day, and he said he wanted to ask me something. It was so cute, because he couldn’t think of what to say or how to say it. I was sure he might ask what I hoped he would, so I coaxed him a little.

Up to prom night, I thought about all the most important things of course. How close I should stand to him, what lip gloss I should wear, which deodorant would be the best protection against nervous sweats…the usual.

That year, I knew some declared homosexuals who went to prom. A few of them constantly made funny jokes that made me laugh, and I enjoyed talking to them once in a while. Some people would tease them for their choices, and others would ignore them and run away. I always tried, and still try, to be kind. My mom always told me homosexuals are people just like anyone else. She is right. They deserve to be treated with kindness/respect. She also told me just because you are nice to someone, it doesn’t mean you have to believe what they do is right.

My point is this. God made us, and He loves us dearly. No one should be treated with hatred because they’re white, black, Asian, Spanish, images (1)heterosexual, homosexual, bisexual, etc. This doesn’t mean everything a person does is good. Stealing is wrong. Lying is wrong. God designed marriage as one man and one woman. Why would we, mere humans, try to change what God made perfect? God knows what we need more than anyone else. He knows children need a mother and a father. He made women for men and men for women. God did all of this for a reason. He knew what was best, and He still does.

There are a lot of good people in the world who keep quiet on important issues. It’s hard to speak out and take a stand, especially in these times…but it has also never been more crucial. Hence my reason for this post. I believe in the sanctity of marriage. I believe God designed marriage to be one man and one woman. It is something so beautiful and holy.

Marriage isn’t to be taken lightly. It’s a serious decision. Some people tell me if they divorce, they divorce. It happens a lot, they say. Unfortunately, it does, but marriage is a commitment that continually needs to be worked on. It’s not always going to be easy, but God can and does work miracles every day. I can’t wait to put on a pure white dress and walk down the aisle to marry the man I’m in love with. While I don’t know when this will be, I still long for the day. I’ll try to remember to always place God at the center of it, just like everything else, and live my life for Him. Can you imagine anything more lovely. Marriage is a wonderful union God created for men and women to enjoy. That’s the way He made it, and that’s they way we should keep it; one man, one woman, one all powerful, all awesome God at the center.

Leave a Reply

