The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Spring break? It’s in August

on March 20, 2013

Waking up to see a white world outside on my first day of spring break was a little saddening. No, I wasn’t in Alaska or anything like that. I was at home in the Chippewa Valley. I was hoping my mom and and I would be able to do something fun, but it snowed all day, so we stayed inside. That was day one.

Day two… It was no longer snowing, just very cold. I spent the day inside, but I have high hopes for the next days in this week. I’ll be going out with my mom one of the days, the Mall of America another day, and going to work on the weekend. airplane

I’ve been trying to keep myself busy this week. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done plenty of napping, watching TV, and ping-pong playing too. I just wanted to keep myself occupied because Craig is gone to Arizona this week to visit his family and his beloved dog, Scottie. I can’t wait for him to return. I feel like he’s been gone for weeks instead of just a few days. I’m happy to know he’s having a wonderful time with them though. 

A fair amount of people I know are spending their spring breaks in exotic locations such as Brazil and the Dominican Republic. I don’t mind spending my time here at home on spring break. It’s a nice way to relax for a while.

Since I know spring break is often a time for travel, my spring break is technically set for this coming August. My destination? San Juan, Puerto Rico. It will last more than a week. It will be more like four months. I’m studying there in the fall of 2013 as a part of my minor requirement for Spanish. I’m very excited, especially since I got into the school I wanted, the Universidad del Sagrado Corazon, or the University of the Sacred Heart.

It’s going to be the biggest adventure of my life thus far. I haven’t been any where on my own before. Not a lot of people believe me when I say that, but it’s very true. I haven’t been outside the U.S., and in the states, I’ve only been to parts of Wisconsin, Minnesota, Upper Michigan, and Illinois. I have a great desire to travel, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned, I would say it’s this: There are so many beautiful, wonderful places within these borders that I’ve never seen. For a while, I was thinking it would be fun to go on a honeymoon around the United States and hit all my spots and more. I would love to go to Crater Lake, the Grand Canyon, New York, Door County, and so many other places.

Puerto Rico will be a lot of fun though, and I can hardly wait. It will be quite the experience; my first time away from home for an extended period of time, my first time in the dorms… Oh yea, it will be something else I’m sure. I know it’s going to be amazing, but I also know I’ll miss everyone here a lot, especially my family and Craig. Part of me doesn’t know how in the world I’ll make it that long without seeing Craig. He’s my best friend. I tell him everything. It already breaks my heart at the thought of leaving him for what seems like so long. God is so good, and I know he will be my comfort in those times of loneliness. He always is.

I have a feeling it’s going to be a great summer leading up to my adventure! I think Craig and I are going to get our pictures taken by our photographer friend, Ashley, just for fun. We also might go to see some Christian music bands or take a mini trip for a day.

I’ll temporarily be off the radio for a few months, but I expect I’ll be back in full force by December. I’ll try to soak in some sun before coming back to the lovely Wisconsin weather. It’s going to be a great spring break!

4 responses to “Spring break? It’s in August

  1. Mary Anne Guzek-Kimball says:

    Hi
    Amelia, Just a note to let you know I’m still here. It’s snowing in Ironwood, too. I was intending to go to Carmel (Holy Cross Monastery, Iron Mountain, MI) with my friend Janet today, but we stayed home due to snow. Thinking of you often. Love, Grandma K.

    • kimbalarcl says:

      Thanks for the update, Grandma! It’s so great to hear from you. 🙂 We have a lot of snow here! Thinking of you too! Love you, Grandma!

  2. paolazaragoza says:

    i hope you like puerto rico if you want ideas on where to eat follow my blog culinaryroadtrips.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

