The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Lady, you’re tugging at my heart

on February 19, 2013

This last Valentine’s Day was one the most memorable I’ve ever had. It consisted of the usual things I love…spending time with Craig, having some dinner, etc. However, this day was a little different than the others.

A couple of weeks earlier, Craig and I went to the mall to stop at Old Navy. There I found a fantastic black dress on sale; it was so cute! Craig got it for me as my Valentine’s Day present. This Thursday, we’re going to see Tenth Avenue North in concert, and that was my gift to him. (I hope all of you will have a chance to go! It’s sure to be exciting!) 164396_490672324324213_229036075_n

On the actual day of February 14th, we went to Azul Tequila in Eau Claire, a great place for tasty Mexican food. I was quite proud of myself because I ate all of my fajita, and usually I nearly finish it, but not entirely. I took my time and enjoyed ever part of our time there.

After dinner, we went to the mall to stop in at maurices, but we were first going to take a pit-stop. As we walked, we passed a kiosk. I usually never stop at them, but this time a short Israeli woman asked me if I wanted a free moisturizer packet. I took it and thanked her, but while I started to walk away, she grabbed my hand and asked if I would come check out her product for only a minute. She was so nice, I couldn’t say no, so I followed her.

It turned out she had a very cool nail product. She told me all about it, and demonstrated its magic on one of my nails. I was actually very impressed. She carefully rubbed all the lines away from my nail, oiled it, and showed me how shiny and nice it looked. Craig watched from the sidelines, but she got him involved too. She showed him the look of my one nail compared to the others, and she had him smell different lotions. I was having a great time with her, and although I was impressed with the nail kit, I didn’t exactly have an intention of buying it. I actually really wanted to get it, but I knew I didn’t have the money.

As she finished showing me how the kit worked, she started to fill my hands with different items, and she told me the price. When I told her I couldn’t afford it, she continued to lower the price. She was so nice, persistent, and fun to talk to, I had the hardest time of saying no. When I finally started to get up, she shook Craig’s hand and gave me a hug. I found out she had only been in the U.S. for two months, and I thought she did a great job communicating with us.

For the rest of the night, I couldn’t help but feel terrible about turning her down. She was such a cute, sweet lady, it was impossible to feel ok about it. I got over it eventually, but I’m sure I’ll always remember that day…Valentine’s Day 2013, the day with the sweet kiosk lady and the nail kit.

Leave a Reply

