The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Mac and Cheese < Iceberg Lettuce

on February 3, 2013

chicken-salad1 I absolutely love salad. I tell my dad I could live off it even though he doesn’t believe me.  Spinach, lettuce, chicken, tomatoes, carrots, green peppers, onions, caesar dressing…those are the best things ever! I’m also a big fan of mac and cheese.

The other day, Craig and I were warming up a bunch of leftover food to snack on, one of them being mac and cheese. He wasn’t very excited to eat it, but I thought he was just being shy.

All of the food was so tasty, and I was starting to get full. I pushed the mac and cheese towards Craig, but he didn’t seem interested. He poked it with his fork, but that was the extent of his activities with the food. I ended up eating all of it by myself, despite being stuffed. I couldn’t understand why someone would pass up something as delicious as mac and cheese. This was startling to me, but I tried not to think anything of it.

The other night when I came home from work, I made myself a salad. While I went to go get ranch from the fridge, I caught Craig picking at my salad. I said, “Oh, I see. You want my green peppers, huh?” And he told me he wanted the iceberg lettuce. “It’s the best,” he said.

I didn’t understand this for two reasons. 1) Iceberg lettuce is not the most tasty and 2) It could not possibly be better than mac and cheese, green peppers, spinach, or anything else on my salad.

As I continued to leave my salad unguarded, he kept snatching the pieces of iceberg lettuce. Though I may never understand why iceberg lettuce is better than warmed up mac and cheese, I was thankful he ate those for me…because in my world, mac and cheese will always be the champion! Along with green peppers.

Leave a Reply

