The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

When on break, ask for homework

on January 14, 2013

I can’t believe we are already 14 days into the year 2013! I think it’s going to be an amazing year. The start of the new year was a blast, and I very much enjoyed my time on break. It was a great way to take a deep breath after the fall semester. (I really needed some air. Talk about a tough semester!) Although my break was cut somewhat sort by a winter class I decided to take, I don’t regret it. I’m in my last week of the class right now, and it’s been a really neat experience. My class is on film and literary noir. I’ve learned a lot in the class despite the fact it’s only 3 weeks long. (Craig has learned a lot too, I think. He’s been watching a lot of the movies with me.) I enjoy taking winter and summer classes. To me, it’s a great way to stay ahead, and the online winter/summer classes are great. I can stay home and do my work there on my own time.

couchsurfing13

I’ll be one of the first people to say I like the opportunity to take winter/summer classes, but I like to take a break too. I had been on break for maybe 3 days at the most when I got an email from my teacher about what we could do if we wanted to get a jump start on the class. My teacher said a few students had sent him an email asking what they could do to get started. I admire their ambition, but I couldn’t believe it! There I was taking a giant sigh of relief and eating Christmas cookies on the couch doing absolutely nothing, and I must say, it felt amazing. At that point in time, I couldn’t help but feel I was a little lazy. I knew I needed a break, and I really wanted to read the book I had started before the fall semester started, but I felt I should maybe start ahead of time.

Needless to say, that feeling lasted for maybe 15 minutes. I read all the emails our teacher sent us, and then I went on to reading my intriguing book on the different love language styles. A few days before the class started officially, I did one of the online assignments. It didn’t take me long, and I felt proud of myself for doing at least one thing before class started.

I had a lot of work to do when everything was in full swing, but it wasn’t bad. I enjoyed spending my time eating cookies, chocolates, reading my book, and watching movies. I don’t know if I’ll ever ask for work early in any of my winter/summer classes, but I guess I say rock on to those who are feeling the ambition! At that point, I’m most likely sitting on the couch reading, or enjoying some sort of chocolate.

 

Leave a Reply

