The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

The most forgetful time of the year

on December 4, 2012

My excitement for the weekend was so high on Friday, I must have temporarily forgotten about my homework.

Mr._ForgetfulFriday afternoon, I spent my time working on my final news package for my audio and video class. My dad called me and said I had to bring the car, Roy, in to the local car shop (I named the Pontiac Roy). New headlights were needed. I had to get there before or at 5pm, otherwise I would be too late.

Craig and I took off for Bloomer and made it just in time. Thrilled to have made the appointment and anxious to get out of the cold, I called my dad to come get us. Craig and I had made fun plans to go to the movies to see either “Lincoln” or “Rise of the Guardians,” so my mind was far from school. I was also thinking about the next day, as I would be traveling to Eau Claire with my dad and brother for a black belt test. I couldn’t wait to see everyone again! (For those of you who don’t know, I was a part of a karate studio for many years. Since I’ve grown up, it’s been hard to go back to classes.)  Happy to be done with the week, I felt like I was floating on air.

Friday flew by. Craig and I saw “Rise of the Guardians.” It was really good! I was pleasantly surprised. Later that evening, I did some Spanish work online, and went to bed. Saturday, I spent the whole day at Holy Ghost with the karate students and black belt team. It was a wonderful, full day.

My world became a little crazy Saturday night when we came home. I wanted my headphones because I was going to chat with Craig online, but I couldn’t find them. That’s when I remembered they were in my backpack…which I left in the car, which was still at the car shop.

It was one of those “oh no….” moments. Luckily, I didn’t have a lot of homework, but my final draft of my Spanish paper needed to be done, as well as my Spanish book work.

I did as much homework as I could on Sunday, but there was only so much I could do. My parents tried to see if the car was left open, backpack-books2_but it wasn’t, and we didn’t have an extra key.

Monday mornings, I have 4 classes in a row. I knew I wouldn’t have time to finish my paper if I went to all my classes. Deciding to sacrifice one of my classes for work time, I was able to finish my paper in a timely fashion, as well as the other things I needed to do. I had to laugh because this morning while I was working hard to finish my work, I later was let out of  one of my classes extremely early after I turned in my final project. I could have finished my paper then. All I could do was smile, and thank God I finished everything. It was also calming to remember the class I missed I have with my brother.

It was a lesson learned. I can guarantee I’ll be more cautious of my backpack’s location from now on, even if I’d rather forget about it.

Leave a Reply

