The Squid Launcher

Amelia's clever notes

Third time’s a charm

on August 19, 2012

As some of you listeners may know, I’ve been training with Mark to substitute in for him during his morning shifts for a few days.ย  Mark is so talented; he makes his work look easy. The challenge seemed daunting, but even at just a size 7 shoe, I felt I might be able to somewhat fill his shoes. Finally, the day arrived for me to be on my own. I got into the station at around 4:30 am, and got started on getting sound bites for the news right away. All of that went well, and I thought I was over the toughest part…till I got into the FM studio. I realized our computer was down. I tried restarting it, but technology wasn’t cooperating that day. I printed out all the material I needed for my live air time on Mark’s computer. It was a somewhat challenging day due to the technology glitch, but I figured that would just make my next day easier when all would work well. I left with Molly’s words in my mind, “Tomorrow will feel like a breeze.” I came in the following morning and went to get some audio printed off Mark’s computer. It gave me the “spinning wheel of death” as it’s known at my house. I thought his email was the only thing not working, so I breathed a small sigh of relief, only to discover it was the whole internet, and not just his mailbox. At first, I couldn’t think of what to do….actually, the first thing that came to my mind was, What came before the internet? Books!

You could say I felt a little like this… lol ๐Ÿ™‚

 

But then I realized that news books, constantly updated ones anyway, didn’t exist. And so I improvised. By the time my work was done, I was laughing at myself for becoming so nervous. And then Molly told me the water wasn’t working. lol ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s been an eventful few days, but very adventurous. All I keep telling myself is the third time’s a charm. My final day covering for Mark will be like riding on a magic carpet…or not…we’ll have to see. I’m ready for the ride either way!

3 responses to “Third time’s a charm

  1. Molly Lee says:

    YES the 3rd time’s got to get easier! I still can’t believe all this happened your first 2 days on your own! You handled them so well – you should be proud of your self Amelia!

Leave a Reply

